Department of Internal Affairs


Our purpose

The Department of Internal Affairs serves and connects people, communities and government to build a safe, prosperous and respected nation.

Tā tātou Whāinga

ko tā te Tari Taiwhenua he whakarato me te hono i ngā iwi, ngā hapori me te kāwanatanga ki te hanga motu haumaru, tōnui, whai mana hoki.


The Department of Internal Affairs works for six ministers and administers seven portfolios within a single Vote: Internal Affairs. We have four branches and one ministry that provide specialist services and advice to the public and government, and two branches with a predominantly internal focus.

The Department has six branches:

  • Strategy and Governance branch
  • Information and Knowledge Services branch
  • Ministry of Civil Defence and Emergency Management
  • Policy, Regulatory and Ethnic Affairs branch
  • Service Delivery and Operations branch 
  • Service and System Transformation branch
  • Shared Services branch
  • Related Information

In addition to the groups and functions listed below, each branch includes a Development and Support group, to provide direct support to the Deputy CE on strategic and business issues.

Organisation Size
Very Large
Organisation Stage
Serves the following communities
Any sector, Emergency & Disaster Relief, Community Development, Ethnic